Access to educational opportunities is a primary concern for the Bitterroot Valley. There are 14 public and several private schools in the Bitterroot, with a school district in each community: Hamilton, Darby, Corvallis, Victor, Stevensville, and Florence.

Higher education is just an hour away in Missoula, home to the University of Montana (UM). Founded in 1893, the UM now includes both a College of Liberal Arts and seven professional schools. A branch of the UM is located in Hamilton at the Bitterroot College of the UM, which offers a number of degrees and programs.

The UM is also home to the Montana Grizzlies, a member of the Big Sky Conference and competes in NCAA Division 1.